Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) will review reports, attend annual meetings as well as offering the project the benefit of their scientific expertise. We have selected SAB members with particular expertise that will be useful in the latter parts of the project since this will require flexibility due to the unpredictable types of genes produced using a number of animal model systems and different and novel biomarkers.

SAB members

Mark McCarthy (Chair)

Robert Turner Professor of Diabetes Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism
(OCDEM) Churchill Hospital Old Road Headington Oxford, OX3 7LJ, UK

Professor Stuart H Ralston, MD, FRCP, FMedSci, FRSE

Head of the School of Molecular and Clinical Medicine & ARC Professor of Rheumatology Molecular Medicine Centre
Western General Hospital Edinburgh EH4 2XU

Dr. Philippa Francis-West

Department of Craniofacial Development Guy's, King's & St Thomas' Dental Institute, Floor 27, Guy's Tower, Guy's Campus London SE1 9RT

Marc C. Hochberg, M.D., M.P.H.

Professor of Medicine
Head, Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology University of Maryland School of Medicine

Dick Heinegaard

Section for Connective Tissue Biology,
BMC C12 221 84, Lund. Sweden

Malcolm Logan

Developmental Biology
National Institute for Medical Research (MRC) The Ridge Way, Mill Hill London NW7 1AT


Sad news came to the orthopaedic research community that Dick Heinegard passed away unexpectedly on May 1, 2013 at the age of 70. Dick Heinegard, Ph.D., M.D. was a preeminent biochemist and Professor of Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, University of Lund, Lund, Sweden. Dick was an influential scientist to hundreds of musculoskeletal researchers over a career spanning more than 30 years. Moreover, Dick was a friend to many whose careers were influenced directly by his generous and collaborative spirit and to thousands more in the ECM research community who benefited from his research discoveries and innovative research tools. Dick Heinegard published nearly 300 peer-reviewed research papers and 50 book chapters/reviews and was an active member of the ORS and throughout his career attended and contributed to the ORS annual meeting. He was the President of the International Society for Matrix Biology from 1999 to 2000, served on numerous editorial boards and advisory panels including the eCM journal International Editorial Review Board from 2004-2012, as well as many other editorial boards of leading journals in biochemistry and extracellular matrix. He received several prestigious awards for his work including the Steindler Award presented by the Orthopaedic Research Society, The OARSI Basic Science Award, and the European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) Award, the OARSI Lifetime Achievement Award, the Scandinavian Jahre Award, and many others. Professor Heinegard’s contributions to the collective research of our ORS community is unparalleled and the antibodies he developed and research approaches will live on as a lasting legacy of his dedication and outstanding contributions to orthopaedic research. He will be sadly missed by the ORS, its members, and the Board of Directors. We all send our deep sympathy to his family at this difficult time. OARSI have dedicated a Travel Fellowship in Memoriam.